Distinguished Leaders Lecture Series featuring A. Parasuraman

Distinguished Leaders Lecture Series featuring A. Parasuraman


The Miami Business School's Distinguished Leaders Lecture Series brings students, alumni and other members of the UM community together with top business leaders throughout the year.

Title: Winning through Service Excellence...In an Increasingly Technology-Dominated Era


A. Parasuraman
James W. McLamore Chair and Professor, Marketing
Miami Business School

Professor A. Parasuraman ("Parsu") has been the Holder of the James W. McLamore Chair in Marketing since his arrival at Miami Business School in 1994. He is renowned globally as a leading expert in service quality and customer service. He has authored several books, consulted with many companies, and conducted dozens of executive seminars worldwide. He has published over 130 articles in scholarly journals and has served as editor of the Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science (1997-2000) and the Journal of Service Research (2005-2009).

Professor Parasuraman has received numerous awards for his excellence in teaching and research at Miami Business School and other institutions. He is also the recipient of major discipline-wide recognitions such as: American Marketing Association’s “Career Contributions to the Services Discipline Award” (1998); Academy of Marketing Science’s “Outstanding Marketing Educator Award” (2001); being named to the Chartered Institute of Marketing (U.K.)’s “Guru Gallery,” profiling the 50 leading marketing thinkers worldwide (2004); IIT-Madras “Distinguished Alumnus Award” (2005); establishment of “The Parasuraman Service Excellence Research Prize,” at the Hamdan Bin Mohammed e-University in Dubai to foster scholarly research throughout the Middle East region (2008); Society for Marketing Advances’ “Elsevier Distinguished Scholar” award (2009); Honorary Doctorate from Maastricht University in the Netherlands (2011); Paul D. Converse Award for significant scholarly contributions to marketing (2012); Gil Churchill Award for Lifetime Contributions to Marketing Research (2013); and AMA Higher Ed SIG’s Lifetime Achievement Award (2018). 

Storer Auditorium
Miami Business School
5250 University Drive, Coral Gables, Florida

Space is limited. Valet parking available for $10 or
self-park and pay via Pay-by-Phone.

The Miami Business School’s Distinguished Leaders Lecture Series is made possible through the generosity of Southern Glazer’s Wine & Spirits.

Back to top