2017-2018 Workshops

Accounting Research Workshops bring scholars from top research universities, UM faculty, and PhD students to share and discuss their work in accounting and related areas. Workshops are held on Fridays from 10:30 AM to 12:00 PM, unless otherwise indicated. Please contact the current workshop coordinator, Roman Chychyla, for additional information.

2017-2018 Workshops

FALL 2017

Date Speaker Paper Location/Time
Friday, November 10, 2017 Sonja Rego (Indiana) The Impact of Standard Setting on Individual Investors: Evidence from SFAS 109 SB 508, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Friday, November 17, 2017 Mary Ellen Carter (Boston College) Compensation Committee Attributes and the Treatment of Earnings in Incentive Pay AGB 331, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Wednesday, December 6, 2017 Alfred Wagenhofer (University of Graz) Strategic Public Enforcement and the Dual Role of Investor Litigation AGB 435, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Friday, December 15, 2017 Encarna Guillamon-Saorin (Carlos III) Debt or Equity Based Pay? The Incentive Alignment Qualities of Debt Relative to Equity for Multiple Stakeholders SB 508, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM

 

SPRING 2018

Date Speaker Paper Location/Time
Tuesday, January 16, 2018 Fabrizio Ferri (Columbia) Investors’ Perceptions of Activism via Voting: Evidence from Contentious Shareholder Meetings SB 308, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Friday, January 19, 2018 Erik Johanesson (Columbia) Former Insiders’ Trading SB 308, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Monday, January 22, 2018 Lisa LaViers (Emory) The Effect of Pay Transparency on Narcissists: Can Personality Type Predict Reciprocity? SB 308, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Friday, February 2, 2018 Eric Lohwasser (Drexel) Common Auditors in Corporate Litigation AGB 532, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Monday, February 5, 2018 Jessica Watkins (Indiana) The Timeliness and Detail Tradeoff in the Mandatory Disclosure of Material Events AGB 431, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Monday, February 12, 2018 John Heater (Yale) Intended Benefits and Unintended Consequences of Improved Performance Disclosure SB 308, 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Friday, March 2, 2018 Salman Arif (Indiana) Does Financial Reporting Frequency Affect Investors’ Reliance on Alternative Sources of Information? Evidence from Earnings Information Spillovers Around the World SB 302, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Friday, March 9, 2018 Eric Weisbrod (UM) Street Earnings under Construction: The Role of Forecast Data Providers in the Production and Dissemination of Street Earnings AGB 431, 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Monday, March 19, 2018 Jake Krupa (UM) Determinants and Consequences of the Optional Qualitative Assessment in Impairment Tests AGB 431, 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Monday, April 9, 2018 Emmanuel DeGeorge (LBS) Debt Financing and Collateral: The Role of Fair-Value Adjustments AGB 431, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Friday, April 27, 2018 Ying Zhou (UConn) Selection Bias in Auditor Tenure Research AGB 532, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Wednesday, May 2, 2018 Sidd Bhambhwani (UM) Creditor Rights and Accounting Quality: A Quasi-Natural Experiment AGB 332, 10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday, May 4, 2018 Ted Christensen (Georgia) The Influence of Manager-Analyst Interactions on Street Earnings: Evidence from Conference Calls AGB 532, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM

 

Back to top