COVID-19: The latest information about COVID-19. See ×

About our Donor

The Johnson A. Edosomwan Leadership Institute was established with an initial grant from Johnson A. Edosomwan, a University of Miami alumnus, who wanted to give back to the university and community that helped guide him to great success. The University of Miami has matched Edosomwan's generous gift with operational and marketing funds.

A Pioneer in Continuous Improvement

Johnson A. Edosomwan is the chairman and senior executive consultant/coach for JJA Consultants Inc., the chairman and general manager for Johnson A. Edosomwan, LLC and the group chairman for C.I.C. He is a pioneer in continuous performance improvement and the author of more than 325 papers and 66 books.

Edosomwan is the recipient of 175 awards, honors, citations, fellowships and commendations, as well as the holder of more than 16 certifications in several academic disciplines, and the following degrees:  BSIE and MSIE, University of Miami; PEngr, Columbia University; and Doctorate of Science in Engineering Management/Economics, George Washington University. 

The following awards were established by the University of Miami in his name: the Johnson A. Edosomwan Productivity and Quality Scholarship Award, the Johnson A. Edosomwan Researcher of the Year Award and the Johnson A. Edosomwan Scholarly Productivity Award.

Academic Director

alonso-text.jpgSheryl Alonso is a lecturer at the Miami Herbert Business School, where she has taught for the past 18 years.  She teaches Organizational Behavior, Advanced Organizational Behavior, Human Resource Management, Leading Teams, Leadership, and Introduction to Business.

Alonso teaches at the undergraduate and graduate level and in executive education. Her research passions lie in the areas of leadership and health care policy and administration.


Assistant Director


"insert bio"

Miami Herbert Business School



World-Class Leadership Faculty

University of Miami

William Scott Green
Senior Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education

Miami Herbert Business School

Patricia S. Abril
Assistant Professor, Business Law

Anita Cava
Professor, Business Law; Co-director, UM Ethics Programs

Cecily D. Cooper
Associate Professor, Management

Marie Dasborough
Assistant Professor, Management

Marianna Makri
Associate Professor, Management

John M. Mezias
Associate Professor, Management

Dhananjay Nanda
Department Chair and Professor, Accounting

Linda L. Neider
Vice Dean of Undergraduate Business Programs, Professor of Management

Arun Sharma
Professor, Marketing

Steven G. Ullmann
Professor and Director, Programs in Health Sector Management and Policy

William B. Werther
Professor, Management

School of Education

Scot Evans
Assistant Professor, Educational and Psychological Studies

Susan Mullane
Associate Professor, Sport Administration Program

Issac Prilleltensky
Dean, School of Education; Professor of Educational and Psychological Studies
Arts and Sciences

Jonathan West
Professor, Political Science; Director, MPA Program
Miller School of Medicine

Vineeth John
Assistant Professor and Director, JMH Mental Health Hospital Center, Psychiatric Outpatient Services Outpatient Specialty Programs; Assistant Professor and Director, Clinicians

Frost School of Music

Shelly Berg
Dean, Frost School of Music

Serona Elton
Assistant Professor, Music Business & Entertainment Industries

College of Engineering

Shihab S. Asfour
Associate Dean for Academics; Professor, Industrial Engineering

Tarek M. Khalil
Professor, Industrial Engineering

Vincent Omachonu
Associate Professor, Industrial Engineering

School of Communication

Sam L Grogg
Dean of the School of Communication

Back to top